Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By flying4fun
I use Volmet South (128.60) quite a lot and as I am quite new to Flying I am wondering who is the lady announcer for Volmet.

Are the recorded messages 10,20,30 years old?

What does she look like, then and now?

Is she connected in any way to aviation?

Any ideas...?

:?: Alan :?:
By Iceman
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
It used to be a guy's voice until a few years ago, then it changed to that quite nice sounding girl. I asked exactly the same question when I was touring LATCC at West Drayton a few years ago. The answer to the question seemed to be known, but the answer was not forth-coming.
By Keef
I heard it was some lady called Cynthia Sizer.
By flying4fun
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Nice One!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
By vintage ATCO
Our ATIS is done by one of our ladies (they are recorded wav files) but I would never reveal her name. :P
By Rupert S
Ah but Keef, Cynthia Sizers need to be sampled from someone real-loik.

I wish you would reveal, VA!
By Keef
I recognise most of the voices on Sahfen' ATIS. Must be my age, or summat.
By Keef
Rupert S wrote:Cynthia Sizers need to be sampled from someone real-loik.

Wot, like Charlotte Green, you mean?
By vintage ATCO
Rupert S wrote:I wish you would reveal, VA!

All right, it's Mavis, but I didn't tell you that. :wink:
By Vince C
Keef wrote:
Rupert S wrote:Cynthia Sizers need to be sampled from someone real-loik.

Wot, like Charlotte Green, you mean?

Charlotte Green! :thumright:

Be still, my beating heart! That Brian Perkins isn't about, is he?

The Manch ATIS used to be human until recently. Now, in it's 'Metal Mickey' form, it's not as informative as it was. On a good looking VFR day you'll get: "Visibility, 10 km" oh, groan! "....or more".

Well thanks for that!

It used to be good, after a superb see-for-ever flight, to listen to the ATIS to get it confirmed that it was "40km". Or, exceptionaly, "60km".