Polite discussion about EASA, the CAA, the ANO and the delights of aviation regulation.
Forum rules: Please keep it polite!
Dear All,

Firstly I'm a complete beginner in terms of understanding the maintainance and certification system. I was very lucky to be allowed into a regional maintainance hangar as what I would call the 'hangar rat' role.

I thus watched just how the process went on but was not in a position to actually learn the papertrail and such.

I'm based in Warwickshire. It was a seasonal role and I'm now looking for other employment, which will have to be outside the industry as it needs to be full-time

I have, since the end of the summer and the season, been starting to write a report on my ideas and observations of the process. As an industry, the area of GA is under extreme threat. Although it may be a very profitable industry, if we examine the CAA's own pdf/spreadsheet 'UK Registered Aircraft as at 1st' January' we see for 2021 a total of 19,498 aircraft. Of those, if one looks at those under the Part 21 list, from CS-23A to CV-VLA, add CS-27 and the Micolights, it is a total of 14,089 aircraft. Even if each aircraft was in a group of 4 owners, that makes it a 'community' of about 56,356 people. Its tiny and very easy to ignore. Is there anyone in Warwickshire who would be willing to meet up and discuss this in detail, and who may have access to detailed marketing information and would be willing to teach and share some of that information? I know the team at Wellesbourne are too busy, so any suggestions would be greatfully received.
Cheers.