Polite discussion about EASA, the CAA, the ANO and the delights of aviation regulation.
Forum rules: Please keep it polite!
By andyhill296
Hi all.

New to the Forum.
I've been flying since 1988.
I currently power fly using an NPPL.
I have flown with a motor gliding rating and I added SSEA to it,
The motor glider rating was renewed in December by a bi-annual.
I couldn't do the SSEA as the instructor wasn't qualified.
I am looking to renew my SSEA. The FAQ's on the NPPL website stated renew by test with an examiner.
When I spoke to the guy who wrote the rules for the NPPL. He said no. It was a flight with an instructor.
I obviously have a current NPPL motor gliders.
For my conversion to SSEA, it was done with an instructor. Why are they now saying I need to fly with an examiner?
Any guidance would be much appreciated.
Especially as I take ownership of a Jodel on the 1st of May.
Thanks.
By Dave W
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Andy, have a look at Note 6 here. You may already have met the requirements for SSEA Revalidation by Experience, regardless of your Instructor's own Ratings. You could - if you meet the requirements in the table - get an "SSEA Examiner" to sign your Rating revalidation without further flying.

The problem arises if your SSEA Rating has now expired, in which case it is a Renewal rather than a Revalidation.

By MattL
Yes you do - from NPPL website. I think the person you spoke to was talking about the revalidation by experience rules.

Q How can I revalidate a Class Rating that is no longer valid?

A Ratings that have not been revalidated before their expiry date cannot be revalidated after it. Instead, the rating can be renewed by a General Skills Test with an examiner. If expired bymore than 5 years, that Test includes an oral theoretical knowledge examination.
By Arclite01
Hi Andy