Polite discussion about EASA, the CAA, the ANO and the delights of aviation regulation.
Forum rules: Please keep it polite!
Hi all,

I'm a glider pilot at recently became fully qualified and have applied to the BGA for a GPL (non-Part FCL) while I wait to see what happens with EASA in April now that the LAPL(S) is going out the door.

My club has Falke touring motorglider and the cost of getting an NPPL (SLMG) would be a fraction of the cost of an EASA PPL if I went down that route.

However I'm concerned about going down the NPPL route (I'd probably want SLMG and SSEA) and being 'trapped' on that license.

If I later decided I want a full PPL am I able to carry over the hours from an NPPL or do you effectively have to start over? I've read people discussing a 'bridge' that was available up until recently for converting but that's closed to new NPPL holders.

Thanks for any advice in advance...why must aviation licensing be so complicated!
What will happen with EASA is that there will be a single sailplane licence, you get to choose which medical, ie LAPL or class 1 or class 2.

An NPPL SLMG can still be used to get TMG privileges added to your EASA sailplane licence. By the time that runs out (April 2021) we will have a clearer idea of which clubs will be doing training for EASA TMG privileges.

The NPPL SSEA will only be valid for homebuilt or ex-military aircraft, that ship has sailed. However, once you have TMG on your licence and then log an additional 21 TMG hours, there is a greatly reduced training & exam requirement to get an LAPL(A) with SEP privileges.

In summary, do the NPPL SLMG. Once Part Gliding has been published apply for an EASA sailplane licence with sailplane & TMG privileges, do 21 hours TMG & then you can do an LAPL(A) course with a minimum training requirement of only 3 hours + 3 exams + skill test.
By JAFO
low&slow wrote:The NPPL SSEA will only be valid for homebuilt or ex-military aircraft, that ship has sailed.