Polite discussion about EASA, the CAA, the ANO and the delights of aviation regulation.
Forum rules: Please keep it polite!
Hi all,

I'm a student pilot, I don't yet hold an FRTOL (though do need to do one relatively soon), and am currently rebuilding/restoring a microlight for my NPPL (currently taking lessons in my instructor's but will take lessons in my TST when it's done).

I'm aware the application window for 20% reimbursement closes on the 30th Sept. However the eligibility document refers to the fact that the claimant must hold a radio licence. Is this the FRTOL, or is this the licence for the aircraft to have the licence (which I presume my aircraft already has...)?

Cheers
Are you making a fixed installation, or a handheld? As i pointed out in another thread, reminding the time's running out, youdo not need a FRTOL in order to own an aircraft radio. The CAA has a very clear web-based application and guidance-notes.

The radio itself needs to be licensed (London office ) If it's handheld (a portable) a 3-yearly licence (£15) for the set covers it's use in any unlicensed aircraft. ( in the case of a licensed aircraft, the portable set is covered as well. the operator has to hold a FRTOL
(that's another thing altogether.) The holder of a licenced portable does not need to own an aircraft of any description.
All irrelevant parts of the application are greyed-out if you are applying for a portable.

For a fixed installation, yes, you need a Registration -number to "hang " the rebate-claim on. though, AIUI, you can charge more than 1 portable and one panel-mount against any one aircraft andalso claim headphones ,Nav-radio and all hardware, but not any labour costs.