Polite discussion about EASA, the CAA, the ANO and the delights of aviation regulation.
Forum rules: Please keep it polite!
By RM1982
First post folks so be gentle. Have tried finding the answer on the forum, but can't find it anywhere.

Am a current UK airline pilot and in my spare time do some SEP flying in the UK and the USA. I am now in my second year of the rating being valid and I wondered whether any of you knew whether the hours flown in the USA count towards the compulsory 12 hour experience requirement to revalidate the SEP rating and if they do count, do you know where I can find the reference?

I have also done some research on the part of the CAA website that mentions, "a training flight of at least 1 hour (or a maximum of three totalling 1 hour) with the same flight instructor or class rating instructor. If you have already completed a proficiency check or skill test in another type or class of aeroplane, you will not have to complete this training flight." My understanding is that an airline LPC rating does now count towards this and therefore the training flight is no longer needed. Is this still the case?

Thanks for any help and information you can provide.

Regards,

Ross.
By Irv Lee
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Yes you are fine with foreign flown hours but normally the hour with instructor has to be with an EASA instructor so that would not count with an faa-only instructor, but you can count a work proficiency check (assuming EASA for that), so as long as you have one of those, you just need the 12 hours plus 12 take offs and landings Sep, all in final 12 months, plus the rating sign off from a UK flight examiner before expiry (you cannot use a 945 or foreign examiner) again assuming you have a UK issued licence.
By Cookie
My understanding is that an airline LPC rating does now count towards this and therefore the training flight is no longer needed. Is this still the case?