Where have you been? What have you seen?
By peterh337
This was a EuroGA fly-in to Astypalea LGPL in Greece. We do a few of these each year and this was a rare extra long one. Greece has become quite difficult and much more expensive following the Fraport (a German based airport operator) takeover of nearly all its money-making airports...

http://peter2000.co.uk/aviation/astypalea/
Antair, James Chan, Horbach and 1 others liked this
A great report, as usual. It's such a shame, though, to read how hard people seem to be working across Europe to kill GA what with absurd opening hours, pointless restrictions, and exhorbitant fees. The small-mindedness is beyond belief.
jerry_atrick liked this
By MichaelP
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
As ever an excellent report. It’s a form of flight I am not experienced in myself, being a primarily a VFR pilot, and though rated, an out of practice IR pilot.
Certainly your aeroplane is technologically equiped better than anything I have flown, though individually I have seen and even used the equipment you have.
It’s a whole different financial category, somewhere between where I have been and the bizjet crowd.

‘Still can’t get around the idea of filing even altitudes eastbound.

Cannes Mandelieu has become more complicated?
I believe it has been seventeen years since I went in there last, on a VFR flight from La Mole and back in a Sundowner.

And if you and I ever have lunch together, you can pass that cheese over to me :D
By James Chan
I really enjoy the videos! :thumleft:
By Rob L
peterh337, that's an astounding trip :D But I would never do it now. Too much Euro Beuracracy and expense :!: My last trip to Europe included a landing/handling fee of circa E200 at Girona (for a little sub-700kg aeroplane). That spoiled it for me.

I'd never fly that high AGL in a single; what if the donkey stopped; there'd be too much time to worry! :?