For help, advice and discussion about stuff not related to aviation. Play nice: no religion, no politics and no axe grinding please.
By Flyin'Dutch'
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Team

Considering the installation of a smart lock.

Who has first hand experience and recommendations? A question for me is whether to add a bridge and Wifi connection; so far I have never had the need to open a door other than when in front of it, maybe I have led a sheltered life!

Considering ABUS, TEDEE, Nuki 3.0 (quiet at the back!), Danalock V3.0
Colonel Panic liked this
By skydriller
Flyin'Dutch' wrote:so far I have never had the need to open a door other than when in front of it

Well yes, exactly... Im trying to think why I would need to open a door by wifi.
By stevelup
Yes, and there are other benefits such as granting access to cleaners / pet feeders etc., without having to issue physical keys. You can simply revoke their access when no longer needed.

I have no first hand experience, but given only one of the ones on your list is actually made by a respectable lockmaker, I'd personally be exploring the ABUS option first!
Flyin'Dutch' liked this
By Flyingfemme
Often used in air bnb places or for letting in staff/contractors with smartphone keys that can be time limited and changed. I looked at them a couple of years ago and the claims/,reviews werenot all good. Some only available overseasand support not always great. Gave up and still use metal keys........
By eltonioni
Test it with a big magnet. More than likely an electronic lock is operated by an unprotected solenoid and will simply open.

If I know this, so do burglars. What they don't know is which flower pot is hiding a spare key hidden inside a dog poo bag.

By Flyin'Dutch'
@eltonioni They're not.

@Flyingfemme There are keypads you can use for those uses.