For help, advice and discussion about stuff not related to aviation. Play nice: no religion, no politics and no axe grinding please.
I know this could fall into the "no politics" trap - but it's more about hearing from those close to the subject (physically or professionally etc) rather than getting into a fish slapping competition.

I see Macron and various others in the Fifth Republic are getting vocal about blockades etc - ostensibly due to post-Brexit fishing rights.

It seems a pretty serious escalation - that I imagine wouldn't go unchallenged by Boris and Co..and in fact, could well be a welcome "weapon of mass distraction" for him.

Anyone on here going a scoobie what really is going on??
By johnm
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
I'm not an expert, but there's a lot of new bureaucracy and confusion and it applies in respect of both mainland UK and the Channel Islands. AIUI the deal agreed a system of grandfather rights based on historical fishing habits and the French needed to apply for licences on that basis, some have been granted, some have not and the French are not impressed with the scale of refusals and the justification thereof.
It was French politicians who continued to say during the tortuous negotiations that the UK couldn't cherry pick and expect things to remain the same once we had left. This could be a very good example of being careful what you wish for. :lol: :lol:

Trying to steer away from political comment, we have been used to industrial disruption by French fishermen even when we were a member of the EU. The sky didn't fall in. I wonder how long it would take for French exporters, who suffered like everybody else during the pandemic, to demand any blockade was ended by government action? I suspect not long.

PW
By seanxair
Propwash wrote:Upcoming election in France would be my guess. A bit of rhetoric against the "English" never hurts a French politician...