For help, advice and discussion about stuff not related to aviation. Play nice: no religion, no politics and no axe grinding please.
By matthew_w100
Can anyone point me at a resource - online or paper-ware - that would help me identify crops growing in the fields, at their various stages? I walk through them on my daily exercise and I'd love to know a bit more about what I'm seeing. Google has not been very helpful in, for example, distinguishing between wheat and barley unless I'm a glider pilot looking for an outlanding. Even my Reader's Digest "The British Countryside" has failed me!

We saw what I thought were peas and what my household thought were broad beans today, which is a fight that needs to be resolved. And another field with bushy stuff with blue flowers that wasn't lavender.

I probably also need a resource to tell me how to make Google work :-)
By TheFarmer
Just put a pic here. I’ll help you out.

C66 used to have an excellent website that identified them all for glider pilots. But we are talking 15 years ago.

As an aside, there are about 400 times more field beans grown in the UK arable rotation than field peas. Both are harvested dry, mostly for animal consumption. Saying that, peas are making a comeback due to the unviability of oilseed rape now, so all is not lost with your dignity yet!
By Bill McCarthy
Most of those crops you will not see in Scotland - oats and barley perhaps - but land in a field of needs or kale, you would know all about it ! I’m going to try bere next year, a 90 day cereal crop - foodies have been to Orkney and it has become all the rage (again).
@Farmer - you must have been through a few grain moisture meters by now - can you recommend a sub£500 one?
By mmcp42