For help, advice and discussion about stuff not related to aviation. Play nice: no religion, no politics and no axe grinding please.
By rikur_
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Presumably it might be a positive thing having a Transport Secretary who is a pilot and has an interest in GA.

(I know politics is not allowed, but this seems specifically relevant)
JAFO liked this
By PaulB
JAFO liked this
By James Chan
Wow! Regardless of your beliefs about Boris, I'm most pleased Grant Shapps has got the role.
I was a student with a moderately hardcore Brexiteer Tory backbencher, I haven't seen him in person for years, but we're linked on social media and it's quite entertaining watching him on Twitter congratulating everybody getting appointed as he's doubtless desperately looking at his phone every 5 minutes to check he hasn't missed a call from No.10. I rather feel for the bloke, and I'm sure he'll be in some job tomorrow - he has the profile and ability.

Less frivolously, I think we should be concerned about Sajid Javid in treasury. He's historically been aggressively non-interventionist, in a somewhat Tebbit fashion, and may not be as amenable to investing in new national capability as some predecessors.

G
ninja-lewis liked this
By JAFO
UpThere wrote:
tomshep wrote:So Shapps will be no use to us, like the rest of this sorry lot.

John Crace uses rather more colourful language in his sketch on the reshuffle:

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2019/jul/24/boris-first-policy-unites-uk-by-blaming-half-the-country-for-our-problems

It may be colourful but it is, to borrow one of his own neologisms, total Pifflepafflewifflewaffle.
By rikur_
Back to Grant Shapps for a moment, and thinking a bit about how ministerial roles work.