For help, advice and discussion about stuff not related to aviation. Play nice: no religion, no politics and no axe grinding please.
The first 'intercontinental strike aircraft' were pretty slow, too ..

[Japanese 'Fu Go' WW2 bombs under balloons designed to be carried by winds to the US. Some arrived, and caused at least one fatality

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fire_balloon ]
Spooky liked this
Kanga is, without doubt, one of the absolute gems of knowledge here, especially military.

I’m not at the same level as him (pro v amateur), and I am sure he knows this one - but there were some absolutely bizarre (by today’s standards) programs that deserve at least a bit of a look-in.

I studied this one as a student.

Not a surprise that Hollywood hasn’t made a film about it, but academically I find it jaw-dropping .

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bat_bomb
War time makes a lot of people creative. The Japanese balloons were mentioned on QI once, as was a scheme during WWII where dogs where trained to carry explosives under tanks. That plan of attack was cancelled after the first real use when it turned out that the dogs took the explosives under the tanks they recognized: the "home team", as it were. Whether it was the Germans or Soviets who did this I can't remember.
What I find interesting are those programs that ended up in the history books as purely research, and those that went operational.

Bat bombs were operational, bizarre but historically a fact.

Guided missiles with pigeons as 3-axis stability, not far from operational on “our” side”.
OCB wrote:Kanga is, without doubt, one of the absolute gems of knowledge here, especially military.

I’m not at the same level as him (pro v amateur), ..]

:oops:

But also an amateur. I have given military history talks for several years, but never been paid for it. Like most of my JAM colleagues, just a geek.. :wink: