Discuss the problems and solutions to all of the situations that Pilot X finds himself in.
By ConcordeBA
Hey All,

I was curious to know if anyone on here has any Thunderstorm stories to tell, and if we could learn from them?

I remember seeing a video on YouTube of a PPL flying in Kent IMC and ending up in an embedded cell, can't find it but it was interesting. So has anyone had any near misses or ended up below or inside a TS?
By rikur_
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
In my time as an Engineer I was responsible for our Predictive Windshear retrofit project - and had the pleasure of AlliedSignal taking me on a couple of demonstration flights off the coast of Ft Lauderdale - which basically involved chasing thunderstorms, and flying into the windshear below them. The aircraft was some sort of modified DC3 turboprop.

The test pilot implied every one was 'a close one' ........ but having seen him since on The Discovery Channel, I get the impression he just talks a good game, and it was probably all a bit more controlled than implied at the time.

Not being at the controls, I didn't learn much - other than it was something I'd rather not repeat (presumably that being his intention, as AlliedSignal were trying to sell us a few £m of radar upgrades for that very purpose)
ConcordeBA liked this
By Irv Lee
I remember 5 circuits on 03 at Popham on a very nice blue sky low pressure day with a light Northerly wind and on the 4th approach the trees on final noticeably speeded up beneath us. Quick glance at asi, normal approach speed. Warned the student that we would probably be going around and why, but as a learning point continued approach, and of course we had to go around, (not enough runway)- great learning exercise.
From the crosswind we could see a well developed isolated dirty towering Cu trying to be a thunderstorm about fifteen miles away on the extended approach. .
ConcordeBA liked this