Learning to fly, or thinking of learning? Post your questions, comments and experiences here

Moderator: AndyR

Hi,

I am 21 and it's my ambition to become a commercial pilot. As of yet, I have no flying experience but am going to start lessons in the near future. I'm studying for a degree in Computing at the moment and am going into my final year next year. Has anyone got any advice on where to start and what route to go down? I've researched sponsorship schemes and found that most people I ask say that there's little or no chance in getting one of these. Is it really that difficult to get sponsored? Also, i've seen some Airline Preparation Programmes around while researching on the internet (such as the Oxford Airline Preparation Program), are these worth looking into and how are they regarded by airlines?

I'd really appreciate any advice at all.

Thanks.

Rob
By BlueRobin
Yes it is.

Work out how you are you are going to raise the 50 odd grand + and manage the debt.
By Mr Proach
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Hi rob83, and welcome to the forum.

Airlines in general arent doing much sponsorship recruitment at the moment, although Brittania and a few others are offering very limited places, and places like CTC McAlpine are always worth keeping an eye on.

At this moment in time you have a few options available, and unfortunately they are self funding. The route can be a bit of a mine field depending on your circumstances. Try
http://www.pprune.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=14
- this will answer most of your questions and you can do a search if you need more info.

Im starting my ATPL`s this summer, if you are still struggling to get the answers you want, PM me and ill do my best to answer them fo you.

Great answer to the question BR, must have impressed him on his first post.

Best Regards

MP
By Iainr