Learning to fly, or thinking of learning? Post your questions, comments and experiences here

Moderator: AndyR

By Pilot_in_training
Hi everybody,

I'm completely new to the world of aviation. I've got my trial lesson booked but it's been moved a few times due to weather so I figure I would ask some questions here if that's possible!

My first one is I'm unsure of the ppl or lapl route. I'm leaning more towards the lapl right now and if needed do a conversion. In regards to the medical, I think I could pass a ppl class 2, but I'm a bit overweight so not sure. If I converted, would I have to retake the medical? And can a ppl class 2 cover me for my lapl medical?

My second question is airports/instructors. I live fairly near to Duxford, elsetree, north Weald, and Cranfield. Is there any one school or location to fly from that is recommended? I assume it's more based off of how you get along with the instructor?

I'm committed to the training. Lord knows I need a hobby. Is there anything else that may be good to know?

Thank you all for your time!
By Rob P
Add Andrewsfield to your nearby airfields list. It has an excellent reputation for training amongst those who have fledged there, and the airfield has a lovely rural feel.

And welcome :D

Rob P
By johnm
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Welcome. :-)

Go for a class 2 medical and PPL because that leaves all doors open, if you can't get a class 2 medical for some reason then look at LAPL and NPPL and make sure you understand the restrictions and can live happily within them.
By skydriller
Try to get a Class 2 medical and full PPL. The NPPL and LAPL are restricted and you need to understand and be OK with what those restrictions are.