Learning to fly, or thinking of learning? Post your questions, comments and experiences here

Moderator: AndyR

By S7ewie
Hi all,

I'm going to apologise in advance because this is going to be a wall of text! I have a ton of questions and I'm struggling to find the best place to ask them so I thought I'd try here. Please don't feel like you need to reply to everything, but any help is appreciated.

First, I'll introduce myself. My name is Stuart and I live in Suffolk. I have no previous experience in aviation aside from the odd simulator on my PC. It was always my dream to be a pilot as a kid but it quickly got swept aside due to the slight inconvenience of not being a rich kid :(

Last week, for my 30th, my girlfriend got me a trial lesson in a R44 helicopter. We got quite lucky because the company doing it needed to fly to another aerodrome to swap helicopters for a service so they asked if we wanted to make that part of the experience. We accepted, and in return got to fly from Elstree to Denham, swap helicopters, chill in their lounge and fly back. I was given control and allowed to fly for some of the journey and was also given a chance to try hovering back at Elstree (its hard). I loved every minute and so did my girlfriend who got to sit in the back and was quite nervous about going.

Since then, I'm been obsessing with learning to fly so I have a bunch of questions..

1. Is there any rivalry between plane and helicopter pilots? I’m curious if I were to visit a local plane flying club and start talking about helicopters, will I get stepped on? Haha

2. What does a PPL(H) cost? I realise this is a very subjective question and depends on what aircraft and how long it takes among other things. But I’m struggling to work out costs without contacting every flight school directly and asking them for a break down. I’ve seen a range between £10’000 and £30’000. What’s the minimum you should budget for and what’s the average?