Learning to fly, or thinking of learning? Post your questions, comments and experiences here

Moderator: AndyR

By paulster
Hi all,

New to the forum, so hello everyone and thanks for having me.

I have just returned to training after a long break due to Covid and it feels great to get back in the air.
I am training for my NPPL (m) as this is really the only path that is affordable to me, plus, I have a local airstrip only 5 mins from my house.
Whilst I have only completed 5 hours training, I am starting to look at viable and economical aircraft that I could own. I have thought of shares in an syndicate but I am an engineer with 40yrs experience of working on everything from motorcycles, boats, plant and even doing pre-flight checks on a helicopter. So ideally, I'd like to do the majority if not all the maintenance possible to reduce costs further.

I understand some certain work has to be checked.

I am leaning towards maybe a Thruster or Xair? As them seem reasonably priced. but I know very little about them and would ideally like some advice from someone who has either flown or even better owned one? I am guessing they are a long way from what I am currently training in but cost is king.
Any help or advice would be appreciated. I am training in a C42 which is great aircraft, but well out of my price range.
Morten liked this
By Morten
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Welcome to the forum :) :thumleft:
Leia will be along soon to endorse the frolics of microlights and the X'Air in particular. You can read more about that on her blog as well: https://leiafee.wordpress.com

Sounds like you're having fun. Keep your eyes open for local fly-ins and maybe suggest to your FI that you fly into one of them if it suits - or drive into one if more convenient. You'll be sure to see all sorts and meet many pilots and their aircraft and get thoughts/opinions (maybe even some actual advice, but be wary!) on everything aviation related (and non-aviation related...)