Learning to fly, or thinking of learning? Post your questions, comments and experiences here

Moderator: AndyR

By IWF
Hi another newbie here.

I’ve decided on trying out some real life flying after many years of flight sims. I actually had 4or 5 real life flights 20 years ago, but life and other things have got in my way before now.

Being a slightly mature student with no current thoughts of flying outside of the UK, the LAPL seems the right choice for me. I accept all the arguments about the PPL but my thinking is that 40 hours of flying instead of the average of 55-60 hours taken with a PPL would save me some cash, allow me to take a couple of guests for a few flights and generally have some fun in a real plane. I take the view that if I then want to upgrade I can. Everything learnt in the LAPL us equally valid for a PPL

But in joining the forum and with no doubt tons of stupid question to ask I don’t want to be bashed each time I ask something just because the LAPL is the poor relation.

In another thread some time I’ll expand on why flight sim , particularly the new fs2020 when couple with a decent vr headset is a very immersive experience. But that’s for another day.

So is a poor relative welcome :?:
By cotterpot
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
You are welcome.

As you comment that you will would like to fly guests.......

Holders of a LAPL(A) shall carry passengers only if they have completed 10 hours of flight time as PIC on aeroplanes or TMG after the issuance of the licence.

So that increases the hours to 50 as a minimum.

Most do not achieve a licence in the minimum hours.

It is worth thinking about.
Artschool, T67M liked this
By Rob P
The thing is that most of us with some experience recognise that the LAPL isn't really a great deal and we do try and steer newbies away from it.

But if that's your choice then you are as welcome here as any ATPL student