Learning to fly, or thinking of learning? Post your questions, comments and experiences here

Moderator: AndyR

By T6Harvard
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Hope it's OK to give a shout out to Irv Lee for his Zoom training sessions on Comms last week. We did 4 seperate hours over 2 days.

As a complete beginner I found it extremely useful. The pre-reading and all the slides in advance gave me chance to get my head round most aspects so when it was live I could keep up! The pace was just right for me, and it was easy to ask questions as we went along. There were several times when Irv clarified things in a much better way than anything I'd previously read.

Learning, for me, requires the message to be imbibed at least twice before my brain accepts that it is true. Hence reading first then listening worked well.

We covered a lot, as you'd expect, and afterwards I felt that there was a reasonable chance that I would be able to make the right calls and understand what was said to me, after more practice, of course!

How to test the learning outcomes? I signed up for Air Quiz. Without further revision I have just done two sets of 20 questions. Scored 80%* and 85%.
(I was bamboozled by a question about a boat on fire and whether to call a Mayday or a Pan but on checking apparently 46% of Air Quizers got that one wrong, too ! )

I have no other course to compare it to but it suited me. The only thing I missed was meeting other students and sharing experiences over coffee on arrival. As a beginner that would have helped, I think, but atm we can't really do that.

ETA * I think that should have been 85%, depends how the following should in fact be said..... 123.50 MHz. My money is on 'wun too tree deysimal fife zero'. What say you?
My understanding is that you only drop post decimal zeros if they are the LAST TWO digits?
Irv Lee liked this
By Irv Lee
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member