Learning to fly, or thinking of learning? Post your questions, comments and experiences here

Moderator: AndyR

By ZeenoTheInventor
Hi everyone, I'm new to flying. I'm just at the general interest stage however I'd like to learn how to fly soon. I'm not exactly sure what the roadmap would be to start learning however I'd ideally like to meet up at some aviation societies here in England if there are any.

I guess first my question is, are there any aviation communities in England where I could visit and learn more about flying in person?

Secondly, what roadmap do you recommend for a first time flyer to get their private pilot's licence? :-)

Many thanks in advance
By Morten
Hi Zeeno and welcome to the forum.

Actual flying communities would be clubs and schools. They are dotted all over the country. But it may be difficult to meet anyone in person at the moment.
However, you can probably give them a ring and speak to someone.

If you tell us where you actually are in England you may get more specific suggestions.

Not sure about roadmaps. Most of us use aeronautical charts or an app on our devices... ;)
Seriously, your school will give you details of how they do things and most if not all of them will also have a website which spells out the various stages and requirements...
However as a starter for 10:
- get your class 2 medical
- take lessons
- self study for the theory and take exams (search this forum for discussions on the best order to take them in)
- go solo after 12-25 hours
- consolidate your circuits
- fly more and more cross country
- pass your qualifying cross country
- at some stage during all this, do your RT (radio) exam and pass all your theory exams
- pass your general skills test after at least 45 hours
- send off the paperwork to the CAA and wait to receive your licence on the post
- go flying with passengers

And, of course, let us all know how you're doing en route :)