Learning to fly, or thinking of learning? Post your questions, comments and experiences here

Moderator: AndyR

By sammym
So I'm very very much up for learning about flying. I contacted a local school who said they did trial lessons for £80 - but that was just a circuit I was told on the phone, so I signed up for a one hour trial flight which costs £180.

I was asked to pay over the phone as apparently some people don't turn up. I've looked at reviews of the school and they seem very legit.

But I'm looking at the weather and it says heavy rain and wind and average visibility. Now obviously I'm no expert given I have never been in a small plane - but am I likely to go out in that weather?

And if I don't do you get your money back? I didn't think to ask this but I'd like to know whats standard in this industry.

Cheers
By TopCat
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
sammym wrote:But I'm looking at the weather and it says heavy rain and wind and average visibility. Now obviously I'm no expert given I have never been in a small plane - but am I likely to go out in that weather?

No, you are not.

As others have said, if you've paid then in all probability they will just reschedule. If they don't, then avoid them. Get used to it - that may happen more than once. It's just the way it is - the weather is unpredictable.

Trial flights would normally take place in good visibility (better than 10k), with a cloudbase greater than 1000 - more likely greater than 2000 feet - above the ground.

Usually in lightish winds too. Turbulence can take a little getting used to.

The point of a trial flight is to enjoy. Enjoy flying, enjoy the view.
By flybymike
My first trial lesson was pre purchased with a gift voucher (exactly the same as paying in advance)

I had to rearrange the actual date of the flight three or four times due to unsuitable weather.

If they want your business they will be keen for you to enjoy your first lesson in good weather and that’s as it should be,
By sammym