Learning to fly, or thinking of learning? Post your questions, comments and experiences here

Moderator: AndyR

By iaindings
Hi Guys,

I know this has been asked a few times, but I'm struggling to find some concrete answers.

I'm a student at about 22 hours so need to start deciding which route to take. The school owner is pushing the LAPL route but I always felt that I may as well do things properly and go for the PPL straight away. I've done about 3 hours solo so just about to start XC etc.

One thing I cant seem to find clarity on is what I'd be entitled to fly after completion of the LAPL, some sources say that its the same *type* (eg a 152) but others say its the same *class*. Can someone confirm? That seems like a pretty big restriction if its is the same type. If I'm reading the CAA site correctly it sounds like it is the type, but you only need 3 hours instruction in a new type - you only have to do a new skills test to change classes.

Otherwise, my Pros and Cons are

LAPL
Pros - I can probably complete it and start using it by the summer. Fewer hours, cheaper skills test. Can start building hours at a cheaper rate. Could upgrade it to a PPL without too much extra dual instruction
Cons - Type restriction, extra skills test, need to do 10 hours post passing before carrying passengers

PPL
Pros - Less restrictive, by the time you do LAPL+10 hours, its similar number of hours anyway. Syllabus covers things which I'd want to learn anyway (IMC, VORs)
Cons - More hours at the higher rates so higher total cost in the near term. The extra hours might mean I miss out on the good weather and end up with delays (flying at weekends atm, I couldnt fly for nearly 2 months at the beginning of the year due to british weather combined with the highest airfield in the UK