Learning to fly, or thinking of learning? Post your questions, comments and experiences here

Moderator: AndyR

By law2gap
Hi all,

I've had a pause of several months in training (mainly due to weather and Christmas closures and needing to focus on final round of exams) having built up to the solo Nav but was then thwarted by our lovely British climate.

Over the last few weeks I have been giving serious thought to switching to the PA28 as I started learning in the PA28 but was advised to change to the C-152 about 10 hours in (on the basis that "you really have to fly them"), but frankly while I love flying I just feel the C-152 is so cramped and feels older as well as more prone to turbulence which on choppier days induces anxiety when I'm flying solo; I read a good thread on here about anxiety and identified with a lot of what was said and I have also posted a while back about being prone to motion sickness, my thoughts were switching to the PA28 now (which I am going to have to do anyway) would help with those issues given it is more stable, more forgiving and is a bit more spacious and I don't see myself flying the C-152 recreationally once I've got my license. Is there any disadvantage (other than cost obviously) of switching now, given I have had the gap and will need to take some time getting back in the saddle? How much of a set back do you think it would be - I floated the idea with one of my instructors (have had several) and she didn't think it was a good idea, but if I'm converting anyway, what's the issue?

Cheers
Greg
I would say if you're going to switch, switch and stay switched. There's more value in getting to know an aeroplane well at this stage than in learning to switch types.

Now, that said, whilst the PA28 is a good comfortable safe touring aeroplane, my opinion is to keep yourself out of it. It's a poor training aeroplane for a bunch of reasons, including...

- Poor visibility out
- Extremely benign stalling characteristics