Learning to fly, or thinking of learning? Post your questions, comments and experiences here

Moderator: AndyR

Ok, a brief backstory... I started training back in 2011, but due to a job change, house move and the addition of two children to the family I had a lot of breaks in training and still haven't got around to finishing my licence. I also work overseas regularly which hasn't really helped matters much either.

Now, last time home on leave I had a chat with my FI who explained that hours pre-8th April 2012 can no longer be counted. Bugger, but my fault I suppose, and there goes 13 hours of training! We decided then to switch from the EASA PPL(A) to the LAPL, as this would have me flying sooner as the only elements left to complete were the solo ccts (again) and the XC/land-aways.

However, since making that decision I have learned that the later converting from LAPL to PPL is not quite as straightforward and also requires a second skills test, and to make matters worse a newly qualified LAPL needs 10hrs PIC before taking pax.

So now in my mind the full PPL makes more sense, as there is only one set of paperwork to complete, one test, one fee, and the extra training time is only the same as the 10hr PIC pax restriction anyway.

FWIW I currently have 6:05 supervised solo, 2:20 solo XC, and 25:00 dual instruction, so a total of 31:05 post-8th April 2012 which I can count. I have also completed all the ground school exams (again!) and the FRTOL course/test.

So at the moment I am due home for Christmas and will pick up training straight after that. Is the general consensus to revert to the full PPL, or get the LAPL done sooner?

I also notice that 5 hours of simulator time can be credited for the full PPL - which could be a cost/time saving (or bad weather!) option - any thoughts on that?