The place for technical discussions about GA and flying.
Forum rules: Technical discussions about GA only, please.
Decided to replace my Funke ATR500 radio and replace it with the ATR833S today to comply with the new regulations soon to come into force. Having already submitted my 20% rebate claim and the necessary paperwork it looked like this should be fairly straightforward compared to the paperwork! Old unit out, new unit in. I admit that I am not an avionics engineer but it didn't look too complicated to me! All went well until I put on my headset. Intercom no longer appears to work and no sidetone! There is a cable adapter that needs to be used as they have a different size D-SUB connector plug. I have checked all the settings and all appears to be OK. Has anyone using the same set-up had any similar operational issues with their install? Any help gratefully received!
I have got to do ours. I did the same thing thinking it would be an easy swap...but looks like I'll have to get the soldering iron out as they have gone from 15 pin to 21 pin DSub.:(. No room for the adaptor as not enough depth behind control panel.
Iain
By patowalker
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
I changed my ATR500 for the ATR833S and it took quite some knob twirling until I was happy with it. The adapter required cable ties around the spring clips, as it was not totally secure without them.

You say all you have checked all the settings, but have you checked the configuration described on page 24 of the manual?
Farmstripflyer

I had exactly the same issue as you when updating from the ATR500 to the ATR833S in our Sport Cruiser - no side tone for either seat when transmitting (intercom was ok).
After much messing about and swearing over a few weeks I discovered it was a combination of two things.