Group flying opportunities & questions
By Dman
Hi
Getting a bit ahead of myself here, having only had 3 lessons so far.
But looking to the future, how do syndicates work.
I have seen shares offered in aircraft for lets say £5000
Then there is lets say £100 a month fees for hangerage, maintanace etc.
So why is there then a charge fer engine our of lets say £100
I can understand that some of that covers fuel, but your not likely to burn that much in an hour.
I would have thought that once you had paid for your share of the aircraft then you would have the use of the aircraft for costs only on an agreed basis??

I am actually in the position to buy an aircraft if and when I get my licence ( Microlight by the way )
But will be looking to sell a couple of shares, purely because there are lot of times i will not can use it ( i am a farmer)

Cheers
Dman
By Paul_Sengupta
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
It depends. There are fixed costs and variable costs. The fixed costs will include a certain amount of maintenance for time related events, the annual inspection, etc. Then the variable costs are those which are hour dependent - 50 hour inspections, engine overhauls, things that wear out the more they're used, brake pads, tyres, etc. Some groups will split the costs as and when, but others will build up a fund so that people don't have a sudden "cash call" or that cash calls are minimised.
By PaulB
Paul_Sengupta wrote:It depends. There are fixed costs and variable costs. The fixed costs will include a certain amount of maintenance for time related events, the annual inspection, etc. Then the variable costs are those which are hour dependent - 50 hour inspections, engine overhauls, things that wear out the more they're used, brake pads, tyres, etc. Some groups will split the costs as and when, but others will build up a fund so that people don't have a sudden "cash call" or that cash calls are minimised.