A place for gourmet aviators. Musicians are also welcome.

Moderator: Dave W

Hey - my first post in this section!
I have been playing the classical guitar for 40 years (since aged 7 would you believe!) and always hankered after an acoustic. I can't believe how much the cost of guitars has come down (or I have earned more!) and took the plunge today on a cheapo 6 string electro-acoustic here:

http://www.staggmusic.com/products/products_detail.php?langue=uk&oneid=324

Cost was £119 and it has a nice bright sound to it, fits nicely and a lot smaller than my chunky classical guitar. I know from my experience with classicals that strings count for a lot and wondered if anyone has any advice for a decent set. I am assuming that the instrument prob70 comes with a cheap set of strings too.

I nearly bought a little 20W amp to go with it and now deciding I had but it was an impulse purchase as the shop was closing so didn't find out much more.

Really enjoying it so far and kept me away from watching Top Gear (not that it would have taken much).

PP
Elixir nanoweb phosphor bronze. They cost more but will last much longer in terms of brightness. I have had a set on my accoustic for a couple of years and they still sound like new.
Otherwise Ernie Ball Earthwood. They do coated too but i havent used them.
By Peter Pan
Morley wrote:Elixir nanoweb phosphor bronze. They cost more but will last much longer in terms of brightness. I have had a set on my accoustic for a couple of years and they still sound like new.
Otherwise Ernie Ball Earthwood. They do coated too but i havent used them.

Thnks Steve - will Google them. Scuse naivety, but what are 'coated' strings? Like the nylons I have on my classical?
By Sharpie
I use D'Addario and occasionally Martin. I don't use coated strings so can't comment on those.
You will need to choose the string gauge, string sets come in different thicknesses. I would suggest using 12s, the 12 refers to the top "E".
By Peter Pan