An anonymous forum to allow you to share those moments in flying that caused you concern. You can post without registering a username, registered users can log out to post
By Guest
During a recent solo qualifying cross country (I'm a student pilot) I managed to forget to reset the carb left to cold after a FREDA check and didn't notice this for what must have been several minutes. I made the same mistake on several other occasions during the trip, again after FREDA checks and after descents.

The obvious remedy is to REMEMBER THE BLOODY CARB HEAT FOOL, which I seem to be getting better at.

But I wanted to know what the likely damage could be if the carb heat was left on for a prolonged period, and whether any of you have experienced such damage?

Yours,

Mr Guest
By Timothy
In the air there is unlikely to be any damage, just lower power and engine efficiency.

On the ground there is the extra risk of rubbish getting into the carb because the air is unfiltered, so you could get a blocked jet.
By David Williams
I make this mistake all the time - it's not really much to worry about. The way I try to make myself remember is to apply the carb heat and hold onto the knob (stop giggling at the back, please). That way, if I get distracted then sooner or later I'll wonder why I'm still holding onto it.

Indeed, there are those who swear by using permanent carb heat to allow you to lean past peak EGT. On most carburettor engines this isn't possible because of the poor vaporisation of the fuel, resulting in uneven mixture distribution. The droplets of fuel that didn't quite manage to vaporise tend to travel further along the inlet manifold due to their momentum, so the front cylinders get a richer mixture. Carb heat improves the fuel vaporisation and can make the distribution even enough to allow lean-of-peak leaning. This has been the subject of l-o-o-o-o-ng discussions elsewhere.
By Guest
ok - it's good to know I wasn't a) ruining the engine b) putting myself in danger