An anonymous forum to allow you to share those moments in flying that caused you concern. You can post without registering a username, registered users can log out to post
By Anon
Anonymous poster
It has been a couple of months since this incident and I still can't believe that A, I got away with it and B, that I was foolish enough to listen to a very experienced pilot and not check something out for myself. The incident happened when half the county was under water and although we had had some wet days we had not had any rain that last week.

We have an east/west runway that is advertised in all the normal places that you would expect. What is not advertised is that we have a very short, part grass and part concrete runway that is north/south. This is only ever used by a few pilots that aircraft is able to land short and then only if the wind is quite strong from the North.

I had been flying out of this strip for three years, having carried out all of my basic training there and then a couple of years in a 150 group. I was very current at the time having 56 hours when I passed my GFT and now, two years later, with almost three hundred hours total.

On this particular day the wind was from the north at around 15 knots. I had flown some circuits on the normal runway and practiced a few wing down cross wind landings. I put the aircraft in the hangar and went in for lunch. The most experienced member of the group has over 2000 hours on the aircraft and often used the north/south grass runway. I said to him that, as the wind was from the the North I would like to go and try the short grass runway. He said that he had been over there that very morning and that I would be fine.