An anonymous forum to allow you to share those moments in flying that caused you concern. You can post without registering a username, registered users can log out to post
By bookworm
I guess I could post this anonymously to avoid embarrassment but you'll all guess right anyway ;)

The Twin Comanche has three tanks feeding each engine -- a main tank (27 USG, + 3 unusable), an aux tank (15 USG), and a tip tank (15 USG). This makes fuel content assessment easier than having a single vast cavern, but needs careful management in flight, and you tend to get a dribble of fuel left in this tank and a drop in that one. The gauges are unreliable, and we tend to use the Shadin fuel flow meter to log when we change tanks and assess volumes in flight. Landing is always on main tanks, as the "unusable" element nominally allows their use in other than wings-level flight. Actually, it usually doesn't matter much...

It was my second flight to Switzerland. Mountains! I'm a flatland pilot and I'm very aware that I don't normally have to deal with terrain higher than about 300 ft. In a twin with a max-weight sea-level OEO climb rate of 200 fpm, it plays on your mind a bit when operating into a 1500 ft elev shortish runway.

I changed to the aux tanks somewhere around Dijon. I did make a mental note that the Shadin told me that the remaining fuel in these tanks would get me all the way to Grenchen, just.