Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By Ridders
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Yep...

Ive got the AA cell powered one (same radio but without a charger and rechargable pack).

It works perfectly with the headset adapter, pretty simple to program up, the screen is really easy to read, when I first got it, I found removing the supplied rubber aerial a bit of a faff but I know what to do now. Its not the smallest of radios, about the same size as the ICOM A6. Most importantly for me, it actually works using a headset adapter, unlike the Icom I bought. There is the saga of my Icom experiences on here somewhere - lets just say, despite being a licensed Radio Amateur I wouldnt buy or recommend to anyone another Icom radio...ever .
What in particular are you interested in hearing about?
Ragwing liked this
By dmarti32
Thanks Ridders,

Generally interested in the units overall quality & how easy it is to of use.

Txs

Dave
By matthew_w100
Is the 750 (with ILS display) worth the extra £70 if you don't have an ILS display in your aeroplane? ie is it actually usable for an ILS approach?
By riverrock
There are a couple of references on this thread: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=96630&hilit=yaesu&start=15
including the offer of some cheaper prices for forumites :)

I bought one a few weeks ago. Pretty pleased so far.
I can confirm that it survives being dropped onto a tarmac apron from 5 feet...

Battery charge using its cradle takes 4 hours. You aren't supposed to re-charge till the battery is low, so after initial charge I must have had it scanning for at least 16 hours, with the last couple of hours outputting Glasgow's ATIS, screen backlight turned on and "battery saver" turned off to try and run the battery down.