Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By songbird
Hi All,

I’m new to Flyer - hope I’m in the right section for this post.

I’m considering buying a Cessna 152/172 to fly about 12 hours a month and hire out to others, too. I’m looking for approximate fixed & variable costs if anyone who owns a light aircraft doesn’t mind sharing. (excluding the cost of the aircraft itself) e.g.

- Insurance
- Hangar fees
- 50/150 hr checks
- Fuel p/h
- ARC
- Wear & tear
- Anything else I’ve missed

Thanks in advance
H
By foxmoth
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Depends where you are but a rough guide
Insurance -£2-2.5kpa
- Hangar fees £2-3kpa
- 50/150 hr checks £700ea
- Fuel p/h £40-60
- ARC - Silly money
- Wear & tear - lots - allow at least £10/hr for a new engine based on getting one with zero hours (replacement £24k+ and will probably need replacing around 2,200 hrs so if it already has 1,000 hrs double the £10/hr)
- Anything else I’ve missed - parts will cost lots as you need certified parts.
Buy something on a permit instead, maintenance will cost you a fraction of a certificated aircraft and these days you can hire it out, almost certainly a more interesting aircraft that will handle better as well!
songbird, Ben K liked this
By Rob P
On a really good year, out here in the wilds of Norfolk, we sometimes got away with an annual at around £2,500 on the PA22, a similarly basic aircraft. But for budget I would start at £4,000.

And thinking about it, this was 15 years back so maybe add a bit more, before you add a South of England weighting to it - assuming you are in the south?

Rob P
songbird liked this
By Paul_Sengupta
It varies a lot depending on where you are.

- Insurance - Probably starts at £800 a year for personal use for a 2 seater, £1200 for a 4 seater, depending on your hours, experience and NCD, going up to something like £5000 if you want to rent it out.