Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By akg1486
I realize that I'm still a newbie in comparison with many here, who have been flying for longer and who have their own aircraft, but I still felt pretty chuffed passing a milestone yesterday: 1,000 landings, TGLs included. That's the number in my logbook, so they include also the early landings that my instructor, rather than myself, did. I'm happy to report that landing #1,000 was a smooth one right on the numbers.

My first lesson was in July 2003, so it's taken eighteen years and a bit, and 550+ hours, to get there.

I'm not really chasing numbers, but I hope to reach 1,000 hours before I quit flying. So many more airfield to visit! I've only been to some 125 so far, plus a few only as pax: we're usually three pilots during long trips so not everyone gets all airfields in the book. If I fly with the frequency I've flown so far, I'll be around 70 y/o at the time. So it feels doable!

For any "youngsters" here: don't chase hours, chase experiences! Visit as many places as you can; why not fly with other PPLs to expand your horizons together? There's a difference between 500 hour of experience and one hour of experience 500 times.
Dave W, aligee, patowalker and 12 others liked this
By StratoTramp
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Way more than me. Well done. I really should start tracking landings before it gets to late to count back :lol:

I suppose they count more than just biffing about in the sky straight and level.
By akg1486
StratoTramp wrote:Way more than me. Well done. I really should start tracking landings before it gets to late to count back :lol:

There are many tools; I just use Excel. But make a note of what you did on the flight, what you learned and how it'll improve your flying in the future. Much more interesting than cold numbers.

Ours is a fascinating hobby: we learn every flight. Hopefully.