Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By Beaker
I'm a modular student post-PPL enjoying my licence until such a time it feels right to move forward to the next steps. I was thinking perhaps next winter depending on how COVID affects international travel, it could be good to travel abroad both to build some hours and keep my eye in as much as possible.

I'm only at the very early stages of research, but just looking for latest opinions as to which places would be worthwhile considering for flying in the northern hemisphere's winter months. The USA, especially Florida seems to crop up a lot in suggestions. That being said, the winter weather in Southern California seems pretty good; mostly based on my experiences on the ground anyway :)

I've seen Australia and New Zealand suggested in the past as well. Are there any other places worth considering, even if a bit different? I think the main, but perhaps obvious things to consider would be good flying weather, ease of aircraft rental and minimal bureaucracy, especially around visas and license recognition.
By Iceman
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Agreed, Florida and the Bahamas are a very good intro to the US and superb for hour building (on my first visit, I did 52 hours in two weeks without even trying), but SoCal offers some superb and more challenging flying. You’d typically do a high-DA checkout to somewhere like Big Bear, and the SoCal area itself is pretty manic in terms of traffic density. But from there, flying around the sights of Arizona and Nevada offers world-class scenery, including Sedona, Meteor Crater, Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, Lake Powell, Vegas, Death Valley, Yosemite, Lake Tahoe, Golden Gate, Catalina, etc. Perhaps even some time in each, starting in Florida as a good intro.

Iceman 8)
Arizona, Utah, Nevada.