Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
Hi all,
Last night I heard the horrible news about a close friend of my family who was killed in the CAP10 crash in Somerset last Thursday (12th August). She was flying with a pilot friend - they regularly went flying together as his wife was afraid to fly as she viewed it as too dangerous.
I don't know any details about the accident yet as the investigation results haven't been released, but from reading a post on this forum I have learned that it appears to be the result of inadvertently flying into IMC.

I have been flying light aircraft for about 6 years now, and I regularly fly a C42 and a Eurostar EV97, both belonging to my flying club near where I live (near Gothenburg in Sweden). Whenever I hear about an accident, I always read the investigation report so that I can try to ensure that I don't make the same mistake. Sadly, the causes of the accident are nearly always the same things: inadvertently flying into IMC; running out of fuel; flying low and slow and stalling/spinning; flying in unfavourable weather conditions (I am sure I've missed one of two here but I can't think of them just now).
I am very careful about my preflight checks (particularly fuel), I avoid flying low and slow, and I am extremely careful and err on the side of over-cautious regarding the weather conditions I choose to fly in. Therefore I feel that my flying is relatively low-risk.

However, this accident, because it resulted in the death of a close friend, has caused me a lot of mental anguish, particularly with regards to a trip that I have planned for this coming weekend. It is our 19th wedding anniversary, and to celebrate I have booked the C42 for a weekend away with my wife. We have a friend here who will be looking after our two young daughters (aged 10 and 12), for the weekend.