Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By Dman
Just about to do my solo nav.
What exactly should i be asking for when I call up for PPr?
By G-JWTP
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Nothing really, they will give it to you over the radio, if they have one.

If they don't have one, check the flight guides for how they want you to join, failing that standard overhead join flying on the QNH.

You're just asking if you can arrive. If they say no, go elsewhere..

If they want anything from you they'll ask.

G-JWTP
Dman liked this
By Paul_Sengupta
I generally ask them if they're open for arrivals. You could maybe add that you're a student pilot. You could also add, "It's my first time there, anything I need to know?" Also if the weather is a bit marginal you could ask what they would estimate the cloudbase and visibility to be. When I phone up I tend to ask, "Do you want my details or should I just call on the radio?"
johnm, RisePilot, Dodo liked this
By GrahamB
The blight of PPR is gradually infecting more and more UK airfields, so it's something we have to live with.

Firstly, acertain from a flight guide, the AIP, or a website how they prefer to grant PPR - by radio on the way in, by telephone, email or a webform.

Then normally it's just call sign, type, where you are coming from, ETA, and POB. They may also want to know how long you are staying, whether you need fuel and any other particular requirements. Telling them you are a stude on a solo nav may also be helpful.

It's an opportunity to ask them about any useful info you should know - for example, if there is anything special going on which may make them very busy, or noise abatement procedures that you need to follow.
Last edited by GrahamB on Sat Jul 17, 2021 6:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
By Dman
Thanks folks
Kind of what i was thinking anyway
For me it`s a bit like making that 1st radio call, all a bit daunting. but now just second nature
By akg1486