Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By gastello168
Hello everyone,

I'm planning to purchase a plane (haven't decided yet if I'll be a single owner or group ownership) and I'm wondering if I can hire out my plane in future?

I.e can I advertise my plane online for private hire by other pilots and charge them hourly rate?

I've got a response from CAA below, but I'm still not very clear. I'm new to UK and trying to understand the rules.

A part-21 aircraft can be rented out for private self-fly hire if it has a Certificate of Airworthiness, a valid Airworthiness Review Certificate, and is maintained in accordance with Part-M/ML by an approved Part-CAMO/CAO organisation.

In order for it to be considered non-commercial, the aircraft owner would need to establish a non-equity ownership group and rent the aircraft out that way.

Does this mean that if I'm the owner or I own aircraft share, it cannot be rented out privately?
By Rob P
My reading is that the two paragraphs above are two alternative ways you can rent out an aircraft you own.

Either you maintain the aircraft to commercial standards (pricey)

or

You set it up as a non-equity group.

Rob P
By irishc180
Your life will be much easier if you don't hire it out. I wouldn't hire out my tractor, boat, quad etc etc and an aeroplane is more breakable than those other vehicles.

There is an underrated joy in a simple one owner flown, well maintained aeroplane. It doesn't even have to be an expensive one either...
Nick, Shoestring Flyer, Miscellaneous and 8 others liked this
By Shoestring Flyer
Stay as a single owner and definitely don't hire it out !
Also with aircraft the best group is a group of one! There is never any arguments or hassle, the aircraft is flown,treated and maintained in the condition you want it to be in and it is always available when you want to fly!