Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By Parnassus
Hello,

I am a 200 hours VFR pilot, not originally from the UK, and have been wondering about IFR for a while.
I would be very keen to be able to climb rapidly from Wycombe/Fairoaks, above weather (and hence in class A).
I have little interest in flying in proper IFR conditions and as such, would limit my flying to VFR Dep/Arr and potentially a layer crossing at say 3000 feet.

I am wondering if the EIR wouldn't be the best rating in my case.

I wanted to have your thoughts on when can you switch IFR after VFR take-off around London (EIR does not cover IFR departure, but can I say depart VFR from Fairoaks, fly 2 minutes and then switch to IFR / enter CAS)

Generally I want to understand if this EIR is suitable to just enjoy the Class A en-route and occasionally cross a layer.

Many thanks.
By marioair
Join PPL/IR.

from Fairoaks you’ll not get a direct clearance to join the LTMA so you’ll be holding OCAS.

The utility of the EIR around LTMA will depend on the route you want to take -you may find you’ll get routed well away from your route and just doing an IFR flight OCAS may not be that much slower
By Lefty
There are no convenient IFR departure routes from Wycombe, Waltham or Fairoaks. So whatever ratings you have, you will be forced to fly VFR (below 2400’) for approx the first 20-40nm.

If heading South or SE, you will usually be forced to fly VFR remaining clear of CAS till past Midhurst and then climb into CAS at SAM, GWC or SFD. If going E, you will not be allowed to climb into CAS (@ 2400’) until past BIG or sometimes DET. (Or past LAM towards CLN if going north of the zone). North isn’t too bad, you will usually join CAS just after WCO enroute DTY.

The IR (whichever version) will only come in to play on much longer trips to Europe, Ireland or Scotland.
GAFlyer4Fun liked this
By IMCR