Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By Kittyhawk
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
I have recently started my 4th logbook and up to now have used the Pooleys PPL ones. The latest one has really small columns compared to the previous ones, long airfield names hardly fit and all the time columns seem really cramped. I have no experience of other suppliers, but does anyone make a log book with more room?
By Genghis the Engineer
Any of the commercial logbooks

The leather logbook company.

I used the Pooleys commercial logbook for years, then when I filled that up designed my own own with the same footprint.

G
By allout
Microsoft Excel.
Used nothing else ever since my paper log books were stolen from my car 22 years ago.
By matthew_w100
allout wrote:Microsoft Excel.
Used nothing else ever since my paper log books were stolen from my car 22 years ago.

Is this acceptable when the occasional glance by an instructor is required? I have about 100 flights to transfer from Excel to my paper log book, and I'd really rather not if it's not necessary!
By allout
matthew_w100 wrote:

Is this acceptable when the occasional glance by an instructor is required? I have about 100 flights to transfer from Excel to my paper log book, and I'd really rather not if it's not necessary!

Yes.
Plenty of devices around these days for viewing spreadsheets.
The LX9070 on my panel can display it.
I can e-mail it to the instructor/ CFI/ anyone, anytime on request.
In fact, matthew_w100, you are most welcome to see it yourself.

Not as tactile as dead trees, no doubt, but I have been scarred by that theft.
By Dave W
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
allout wrote:...but I have been scarred by that theft.

I sympathise to the deepest possible degree.

I lost my logbook with ab initio training and early experience records from a car boot theft, along with many other work and personal items.