Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By Rod1
When I started posting on this forum, LAA aircraft could not fly over urban areas, there were no 4 seat aircraft, there was no IMC, no night flight, and you could not generally hire out LAA aircraft for post PPL hire. As of right now, all the above are now possible, at least for parts of the fleet, with hire for training for a PPL likely to be added by the end of the year. We have also seen a move from C of A to LAA permit for some aircraft, although many more are in the wings. I would like to thank the LAA for doing a very good job over many years to get the above changes approved. Flight training from unlicensed strips should probably be on the list as well, as many LAA aircraft are based away from the commercial world. I have been flying LAA aircraft for many years and although most of the above is unlikely to be relevant to me, it is good to see things are getting less restrictive and costs will come down because of it :thumright:

Rod1
Charliesixtysix, Dave W, Smaragd and 24 others liked this
I have been a member now since 1976 and without the PFA/ LAA things would be pretty grim for the GA scene in the UK. In the early days the “fleet” was virtually all plans built in wood and fabric - now, nearly all Meccano set stuff. A terrific organisation indeed.
mick w, Bobcro, kanga liked this
Rod1 - you're dead right. We owe the LAA a debt of gratitude for their achievements. I fly permit aircraft almost exclusively and I look down on the poor sods flying around in CofA machines knowing what they're missing out on. The LAA really does do the dull graft that enables me to live the dreams of the ten year old Maxthelion.
Bobcro, Marvin, gaznav liked this
By peter272
The LAA route is not for everyone. There aren't that many 3-4 seaters available and I fly that many often enough to stick with our toy.