Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By Yorkshire Jack
Hi.
I am new to Flyer and hoping someone out there can. Help.
I am looking to buy a LSA from abroad as I can't find the one I want in the the UK at a price I am prepared to pay.

I have been told by the LAA that in order to get a permit to fly the aircraft in the uk it will need to have proof that the build has been inspected at certain stages and who the inspector was.
The Netherlands appear not to go through the same build inspections as we do here in the UK.
Has anyone bought an LSA aircraft from abroad and if so what did they do to get an LAA permit issued in the UK
Any information will be greatfully received.
By hatzflyer
Having done a few for customers I would say that by the time you have got it on the British permit system it will cost the same (or more ) than buying in this country.
In reality it usually a long drawn out process. Often work needs to be done to comply , travelling to find one , hangarage, inspections ,insurance whilst being done even petrol for the car back and forth to the hangar to work on it all add up.
You would need to buy it considerably cheaper to make it worthwhile but also miss a flying season whilst sorting it.

On the other hand if you need any help ..,...,... :D
Hatz knows what he's talking about. It's not something I would contemplate - and I used to certify permit aeroplanes for a living.

The build standard's likely to be different to the UK approved standard, as you've already identified, there's not going to be evidence of stage inspections - and any changes from UK approved standards will require substantial analytical / testing work to approve, with no guarantee that it'll prove compliant with UK standards.

Buy something registered in the UK, or buy a kit and build it from scratch under supervision of LAA or BMAA.