Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By CessnaAL25
Hi im new to the forum.
Im a pilot with under 500 hours on mainly cessna and robin types.

I have been watching many youtube videos recently and the amount of pilots that use the main front windows only as opposed to scanning the side windows as a 180 degree lookout quite frankly scares me and ive had to avoid many contacts who have probably been heads down in VFR and had to take aggressive avoiding action.

In my belief better instruction on lookouts should be given and traffic services should be obtained if possible.

Call me paranoid but converging with a DA40 who took no action did make me wonder.

CessnaAL. :shock:
klutz liked this
By Balliol
The OP is not wrong, lookout standards vary considerably in my experience and the growth of in cockpit ipads etc.. has made it worse as it is far too easy to get sucked into heads down and staring at the screens (I have to try really hard to not do it myself!). There are also stacks of aeros videos on the internet where there is invariably no upward / up and behind lookout before pulling through the vertical.
Chris Martyr liked this
By skydriller
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Balliol wrote:the growth of in cockpit ipads etc.. has made it worse as it is far too easy to get sucked into heads down and staring at the screens (I have to try really hard to not do it myself!.

I totally dis-agree with this.

It takes me about 2 seconds to glance at the moving map display and see exactly where I am plus the number of degrees off track I am. Moving Map GPS means I dont need to spend any time looking down at a map & kneeboard and then at the ground to figure where I am then work out how far from the line I am and if my heading is correct compared to the plog and how much I need to change it etc etc etc... Therefore I reckon my lookout is infinitely better as a result.

Regards, SD..