Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By Rod1
I have some experience with Jodel/Robin aircraft with flaps or airbrakes. A friend of mine is looking at a Jodel 120D which has neither. The stall speed is 30kn (according to the last test flight). I assume speed control will be more critical and the view on approach will be reduced? At max all up weight will it float forever or is there very little difference?

Thanks,
Rod1
By Genghis the Engineer
I did an evaluation on a 120 not long ago for our syndicate, when we were thinking of buying one.

Didn't float, easy to see over the nose, even at my elevated 5ft6". A real pleasure to fly, and I'm sorry we didn't go for one. I'd take the indicated stall speed with a pinch of salt, aircraft in that general bracket you should really treat the ASI as "indicative".

G
By MichaelP
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
I remember a group member saying the Jodel dropped a wing when it was slipped.

I flew with him and determined that he was stalling the aeroplane on the final approach.

30KIAS is somewhat slow, I wouldn't believe that.

Jodels such as the D150 that have flaps do not have a significant increase in descent, or lower nose attitude.
A bit like the Cessna 120 vs 140.

The Jodel with airbrake version was better.
I wound Brendan O'Brian up once in G ATLB as I controlled the descent using the airbrakes glider style (just playing silly bug gers), he said "Since when do you put the flaps up and down like that on finals?"
"These are airbrakes" I replied.
mick w, ChampChump liked this
By ak7274
I have a D117 which has virtually the same characteristics as a D120. They do indeed stall at a much slower speed than one would expect. The stall speed is stated at 26kts on mine and it is not a long way off that. Last flight test gave pre stall buffet at 33kts and nose dropped at 27.
We have D120s at our airfield and I find them just about the same.
By rohmer