Primarily for general aviation discussion, but other aviation topics are also welcome.
By Global5000
Good afternoon,

I am new to this forum but signed up specifically to ask for advice/tips on purchasing/running an RV type aircraft.

My day job is flying and I am looking for a fun aircraft to fly with my wife on my time off and do a little touring. The aircraft will be based in Scotland ( undecided airfield yet ) and used for trips around the UK and possibly down to Portugal.

I appreciate the RV4 is a little on the small side, but I am happy to stop for a top up every few hours and a leg stretch. I am looking for something thats fun, simple and has a reasonable turn of speed. Having never flown one, or even seen one up close I was wondering if you might indulge me in some flying stories or point me in the right direction to learn more about them?

I work abroad at the moment so I cant just pop down to an airfield sadly but I will be back in the UK in August and would be delighted if someone might allow me to have a look at an aircraft and would be kind enough to let me see an RV4 up close. A nice bottle of wine or whiskey would be the very least I could offer in return.

Any suggestions/discussion very much appreciated and I look forward to joining in with the Flyer community.

My budget is around 50k.

Kindest regards,

Global5000
ianfallon liked this
By GolfHotel
Several RV's have just returned from Menorca, Sante Luise. Get on the RV forum for advice.

My £00.02 worth. Get a side by side. You get more luggage (more usable luggage as far as the 8 goes) and its much more passenger friendly. One 8 came along but he was on his own! All the others were side by side and two up.

PS any RV will be a great choice IMHO.
mick w liked this
By ianfallon
FLYER Club Member  FLYER Club Member
Can you get anywhere near Hinton-in-the-Hedges / Turweston area ?

Very welcome to come and see ours and chew the fat. Doubly so if you bring a wee dram !!