Wednesday 19 June 2013 12:12 UTC

Latest FLYER headlines:
Aeroplane rental service launches in America  -  Schneider Trophy Air Race celebrates 100 years  -  HIAL passenger numbers up by 8,000  
More news

Virus?

To discuss anything which relates to the FLYER Airportal or the magazine
MikeE
Forumite
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 2:20 pm
Location: EGKR

Virus?

Postby MikeE » Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:17 pm

I am being notified constantly of an attack by Exploit Toolkit Website 4 when I open the forum or change page. This apparently is from www.orion-software.co.uk. These are being blocked by Norton. Is there a problem with the site?

Regards

MikeE
Beagle Pup G-BAKW at EGKR

User avatar
Timothy
CLEAR PROPS!!!
 
Posts: 30127
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 10:41 pm
Location: The best of all possible worlds

Postby Timothy » Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:32 pm

I am also getting warnings, but I only get the IP address, which I haven't WhoIsed yet.
Timothy
Not sent from my iPad.

User avatar
Ian Melville
Needs Help
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:26 am
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: Virus?

Postby Ian Melville » Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:32 pm

Me too. Picked up by both Norton and Malwarebytes

User avatar
jollyrog
Sad Forumite
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:55 am
Location: London

Postby jollyrog » Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:14 am

Same, by Norton.

I have added Orion Software to my block sites in the router again. I've had trouble with them before on here, perhaps Flyer could use a more reliable advertiser.

Currently I'm advert free.

User avatar
Propwash
Beyond Hope
 
Posts: 8724
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:48 pm

Postby Propwash » Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:39 am

First thing this morning I found myself redirected to a site called "Whatismyispaddress.com" every time I tried to access the Flyer forum, either through favourites or via the Flyer website.

At least I now know my ISP address. :wink:

PW

User avatar
Timothy
CLEAR PROPS!!!
 
Posts: 30127
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 10:41 pm
Location: The best of all possible worlds

Postby Timothy » Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:53 am

jollyrog wrote:Same, by Norton.

I have added Orion Software to my block sites in the router again. I've had trouble with them before on here, perhaps Flyer could use a more reliable advertiser.

Currently I'm advert free.

Please can you give us a quick, detailed "How To"?
Timothy
Not sent from my iPad.

User avatar
jollyrog
Sad Forumite
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:55 am
Location: London

Re: Virus?

Postby jollyrog » Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:05 am

Timothy,

My Netgear router has a menu option "block sites". You can add addresses or keywords to block, the router then doesn't permit access to those places. I just added the web address for Orion to that list and pressed "Apply".

As all the Flyer adverts originate from Orion, it makes my Flyer viewing an advert free experience.

I had to do the same before, when there were other Orion problems.

User avatar
Timothy
CLEAR PROPS!!!
 
Posts: 30127
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 10:41 pm
Location: The best of all possible worlds

Postby Timothy » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:47 pm

I have blocked domains orion-software.co.uk and orion-software.net and the pages are still very slow to load...am I doing something wrong? Should I put the www in front, or the http://?

Looking at page source, there is still a reference in the js to https://www.orion-software.co.uk and http://www.orion-software.co.uk
Timothy
Not sent from my iPad.

User avatar
Timothy
CLEAR PROPS!!!
 
Posts: 30127
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 10:41 pm
Location: The best of all possible worlds

Postby Timothy » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:55 pm

Ahh...on clearing the cache it has suddenly speeded up...thank you!
Timothy
Not sent from my iPad.

peterh337
.
 
Posts: 7295
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 1:11 pm
Location: Sussex

Postby peterh337 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:07 am

This is the problem with doing a forum using off the shelf software.

Every hacker in town is trying to break it, and most can.

Gawd knows how many people have their PCs infected before the thing is fixed.
www.euroga.org
FAA CPL/IR
JAA PPL/IR

User avatar
Timothy
CLEAR PROPS!!!
 
Posts: 30127
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 10:41 pm
Location: The best of all possible worlds

Postby Timothy » Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:17 am

Image
Timothy
Not sent from my iPad.

User avatar
mmcp42
Forum Addict
 
Posts: 3478
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Holmbeck

Postby mmcp42 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:22 am

hmm
I didn't change anything - and it's not moaning today
perhaps it's gone away (can't really tell with all this sand in my eyes!)
Mike McP

User avatar
Keef
Just Keef
 
Posts: 36062
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 12:25 am
Location: Somewhere in Suffolk.

Postby Keef » Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:36 am

peterh337 wrote:This is the problem with doing a forum using off the shelf software.


Happily, this one isn't "off the shelf" although it uses a popular BB package as the basis.
That doesn't stop the hackers trying, although the great majority of them are seen only by Liam or the Admins.

The most frequent problem is links to sites that have been hacked. Short of blocking any linking, there doesn't seem to be an easy way to prevent that.
Keef
Moderatio in omnibus

User avatar
Ian Melville
Needs Help
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:26 am
Location: Oxfordshire

Postby Ian Melville » Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:36 am

Oh dear,
The Orion-Software attack seems to have stopped, but been replaced by one from onehaveoneby.homeip.net, which is an intrusion attempt. Don't get it on every page but seems to be triggered by the forum.

I fear for anyone who doesn't have good protection and wonder if/when they will launch an attach which my protection fails to detect :evil:

User avatar
Ian Melville
Needs Help
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:26 am
Location: Oxfordshire

Virus?

Postby Ian Melville » Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:48 am

jollyrog wrote:My Netgear router has a menu option "block sites". You can add addresses or keywords to block, the router then doesn't permit access to those places. I just added the web address for Orion to that list and pressed "Apply".

As all the Flyer adverts originate from Orion, it makes my Flyer viewing an advert free experience.


I tried that and it didn't work for me. I have a Linksys WAG54G2.. IE and Chrome fail to load any of the Flyer forum page, FF hangs trying to load the Orion-Software page bur eventually displays the page minus ads. Have I set something wrong?

Image

Next

Return to Airportal and Magazine

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

click here Login / Register