Sunday 19 May 2013 23:02 UTC

Latest FLYER headlines:
Manx Aero Club ends operations at Ronaldsway   -  Stapleford's new circuit pattern for twins  -  Avidyne DFC90 on Beechcraft Bonanza series  
More news

Malicious URL Blocked

To discuss anything which relates to the FLYER Airportal or the magazine
User avatar
dublinpilot
PFMS Team
 
Posts: 2024
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 2:57 pm

Malicious URL Blocked

Postby dublinpilot » Fri May 04, 2012 11:16 am

Am I the only one getting warninings when visiting the forums?

Avast warns me when visiting the forums:-

Image

User avatar
Paul_Sengupta
Season Ticket Holder
 
Posts: 14787
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 3:47 pm
Location: Guildford

Postby Paul_Sengupta » Fri May 04, 2012 12:38 pm

My Symantec found something similar yesterday or the day before, but something actually nasty which had made its way into my cache.

smokescreen
Junior Forumite
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Nr Pulborough W. Sx.

Re: Malicious URL Blocked

Postby smokescreen » Fri May 04, 2012 2:46 pm

Likewise with me from my work PC - anti-virus software (Sophos) generated a warning.

User avatar
Tall_Guy_In_a_PA28
Senior Forumite
 
Posts: 2958
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:36 pm
Location: Crawley Down

Postby Tall_Guy_In_a_PA28 » Fri May 04, 2012 2:50 pm

Yes, my work PC was infected within seconds of visiting the Forum this morning at about 11:45.

AVG found four files infected with an unknown virus, all in my user profile.

After three reboots and a full scan, things are back to normal.
The tall guy formerly in a 152

peterh337
.
 
Posts: 7283
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 1:11 pm
Location: Sussex

Postby peterh337 » Fri May 04, 2012 7:02 pm

This is not the first time by any means.

Either hackers manage to hack the forum software, or the stuff comes via advert feeds.

I think the site admin should disclose what happened so people can check their PCs, instead of having the present situation where nobody is told. I recall a similar situation with another forum where I got told off by the admin for telling too many people about an infection.
www.euroga.org
FAA CPL/IR
JAA PPL/IR

Colonel Panic
Back on duty!
 
Posts: 7567
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 1:11 pm

Re: Malicious URL Blocked

Postby Colonel Panic » Fri May 04, 2012 8:23 pm

We are aware of the issue and someone more techie than I will revert shortly.

User avatar
eharding
Sad Forumite
 
Posts: 1703
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire

Postby eharding » Mon May 14, 2012 12:14 pm

Kaspersky has started kicking up a fuss for me as well....

Code: Select all
8/03/2012 15:20:59   file: http://www.flyer.co.uk/homepage.js   detected: Trojan program 'HEUR:Trojan.Script.Iframer' (modification)   
08/03/2012 15:20:59   file: http://www.flyer.co.uk/homepage.js   access blocked   
08/03/2012 19:05:09   file: http://www.flyer.co.uk/homepage.js   detected: Trojan program 'HEUR:Trojan.Script.Iframer' (modification)   
08/03/2012 19:05:09   file: http://www.flyer.co.uk/homepage.js   access blocked   


Edited: oops - later stuff appears to come from PH, not Flyer - have left earlier warnings for reference....
I'm here at the field....I fight for my meals...I get my Yak into my living......

User avatar
jaycee58
Forumite
 
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 8:56 pm
Location: A very small Suffolk village.

Re: Malicious URL Blocked

Postby jaycee58 » Tue May 15, 2012 1:09 am

I've started getting warnings tonight as well!

peterh337
.
 
Posts: 7283
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 1:11 pm
Location: Sussex

Postby peterh337 » Tue May 15, 2012 7:11 am

Me too.
www.euroga.org
FAA CPL/IR
JAA PPL/IR

User avatar
dweston
Sad Forumite
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: SE England - centre of the universe

Re: Malicious URL Blocked

Postby dweston » Tue May 15, 2012 9:32 am

Working OK now but failed most of last night with similar 'blocking' screens

User avatar
Pete L
Lost Cause
 
Posts: 6030
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 3:51 pm
Location: Back in a purple xxxxxx red and white spaceship, over Yatton

Re: Malicious URL Blocked

Postby Pete L » Tue May 15, 2012 4:00 pm

It happened today (cue Sonja Cristina)
Cheering up a bit with grumpy spells later

Bald Sparrow
Forumite
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:32 am

Postby Bald Sparrow » Thu May 17, 2012 9:52 am

Both Google Chrome AND my anti-virus/internet security software generated warnings last night.

I clicked on the news items about Olympic Infringements and up came a warning.

Much as this website is top of my sites to visit each evening, I can’t risk the damage I know one of these viruses can do to my equipment. So if this is going to be a regular occurrence and is ignored, then I am off to Pprune.

Edited to add -

Doing it again when I click on news items. - Come on guys, what's the problem??

The report from Google Chrome says:
What is the current listing status for flyer.co.uk/news?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this website may harm your computer.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 4 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 485 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 7 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2012-05-16, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2012-05-14.
Malicious software is hosted on 3 domain(s), including usawork.myvnc.com/, hhhorange.info/, 193.107.17.0/.
1 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including 193.107.17.0/.
This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS12855 (HOUXOUUK).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, flyer.co.uk/news did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.
Next steps:
Return to the previous page.
If you are the owner of this website, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Centre.

User avatar
G-BLEW
Boss Man
 
Posts: 9872
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 5:13 pm
Location: On a strip

Postby G-BLEW » Tue May 22, 2012 3:23 pm

We believe that any malicious code has been removed. We are waiting for Google to re-scan the site in order to remove the warning.

Sorry :-(

Ian
The dirt is full of people who wanted bragging rights
Blog: Unicom Twitter: Flyer Magazine or me
Visit FLYER's Facebook page


Return to Airportal and Magazine

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

click here Login / Register